What are Chakras?

Based on Ayurvedic teachings the energy body exists alongside the physical body, both requiring a balanced flow of life energy. These energy centers are the seven chakras, which are swirling wheels of spiritual power that run parallel with the body’s main energy channel. Keeping these energetic pathways cleansed and activated is very important for enhancing your physical, emotional, and spiritual wellbeing. When these energy centers are aligned, balanced, and cleansed, it helps you feel energized and centered.

When you pair certain crystals with chakras in the body, the crystalline structure of gemstones work to amplify your healing intentions and restore and rebalance the energy body by removing blockages. Analyzing what is happening with your chakras is a powerful way to tune into your mind, body and spirit. And the use of gemstones in the treatment room can refocus and regenerate your clients’ energy.

Root Chakra (red)

The first chakra is located at the base of our spines in the pelvic region and its what grounds us to the earth. If your root chakra is weak, you may feel like you are unhappy with your body size or shape. You may feel as if you are out of control of your life and you can’t gain control. If your root chakra is overactive, you might find that you often explode angrily at the smallest things. Once your root chakra is balanced, you will feel more grounded, solid and confident in yourself.

Sacral Chakra (orange)

The second chakra is located three inches below your belly button and is the center of our emotions and sexuality.  A low energy flow through your sacral chakra will cause a lack of energy and motivation. You may feel extremely lethargic and even depressed, lacking any joyful moments in your life. If your sacral chakra is overactive, you may be feeling a constant frustration, leading to you breaking down in tears too often. Once your sacral chakra is back in balance, you will begin to feel excitement, inspiration and motivation again.

Solar Plexus Chakra (yellow)

Located at our diaphragm area, the third chakra is the center of our personal power, confidence, and independence. Inactivity of the solar plexus chakra will cause you to feel powerless, especially when you are under pressure. You may often feel butterflies in your stomach or feel as if you can’t gain control over your life. If your solar plexus chakra is overactive, you will feel the uncontrollable need to control everything about your life. Once your solar plexus chakra is balanced, you will begin to feel motivated, focused and confident in your decisions.

Heart Chakra (green)

The fourth chakra is located at the center of our chests. If you find yourself having problems in your relationships or feeling unattached to the people you love, it may indicate that your heart chakra is weak. If your heart chakra is overactive, you may find yourself becoming too attached to things, resulting in you being overly emotional all the time. Once your heart chakra becomes realigned, you radiate love of all kinds. Your relationships will begin to strengthen again, and you will feel hopeful.

Throat Chakra (blue)

The fifth chakra is located at the center of the throat and is the center of our communication and expression.  A weak throat chakra will make you unable to speak your truth and express yourself. When your throat chakra is overactive, you often speak before you think, resulting in unnecessary arguments and hurtful words. When your throat chakra becomes unbalanced, you will find that you cannot articulate your thoughts clearly, leading to miscommunications and frustration. on your throat.

Third-Eye Chakra (purple)

The sixth chakra is located between the eyebrows and how we connect to wisdom, intuition, and insight. The third eye or brow energy center is linked with enhanced intuition and creative inspiration. If you feel a lack of clarity in your life or have trouble seeing the truth in yourself or situations, it’s a sign that you need a third eye chakra cleanse. If you feel you cannot visualize and organize your life very well, then your third eye chakra may be under active. If your third chakra is overactive, you may experience nightmares each night. You may begin to feel stuck and in an emotional rut, becoming closed off to new ideas.

Crown Chakra (white or violet)

The seventh chakra is located at the top of the head and is the pathway to all the other chakras. It helps us access higher states of consciousness connect with universal source energies. An inability to think clearly when you are under stress means that your crown chakra is unbalanced. You may feel like you are going about life without having a specific purpose or path, leaving you feeling lost.  When the crown chakra is balanced and harmonious, it opens the doorway to spiritual enlightenment. In healing layouts, these stones are placed on the forehead to encourage a feeling of transcendence from negative, self-defeating thoughts. 

The use of gemstones and color plays a major role in chakra alignment. Each color has its own frequency or vibration that can help to energize, stimulate, relax, or uplift the spirit.  If a chakra is out of balance, a colorful gemstone can be used to restore balance. The next article in this short series covers gemstones and how to use them in the treatment room to balance the seven chakras. 

Reference Links: